Save Point Devices

The Save Point device gives players the ability to save progress, location, resources and stats so they can leave the game and come back without starting over.

The Save Point provides a way for creators to add elimination tracking persistence, inventory and resource tracking across multiple game sessions, and more.

Think of it as saving a snapshot of where the player is at any given time. For example:

  • In racing games, players can track their best lap times.

  • In adventure games, players can save their progress toward objectives.

  • In skillrun games, players can pick up where they left off instead of having to start over every time they leave the game and come back.

Finding and Placing the Device

Click image to enlarge.

  1. From Create mode, press the Tab key to open the CREATIVE inventory screen.

  2. Click the DEVICES tab and scroll to select the device. You can also use the Search box or the Categories panel on the left to find your device.

  3. Click PLACE NOW to place immediately, or put the device in the QUICK BAR to place later.

  4. Press Esc to return to your island in Create mode. Use your phone tool to position the device, then left-click to place it. Press Esc to detach the device from your phone.

  5. Point at the device with your phone. If the CUSTOMIZE popup doesn't open immediately, move closer until it does, then press E to open the CUSTOMIZE panel.

If you're using multiple copies of a device on an island, it can be helpful to rename them. You can choose names that relate to each device's purpose, so it's easier to remember what each one does.

Device Options

This device has some basic functionality, like autosaving and saving checkpoint data. Additionally, there are some advanced options, like saving a player's shield and health data.

You can configure this device with the following options.

Default values are bold.

Basic Options

Option

Value

Description

Auto Save

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's data is automatically saved while they play.

Auto-Load

Initial Spawn, Every Spawn, Off

Determines whether to autoload the player's data. If set to Initial Spawn, the player's data will automatically load when they spawn into the game. If this is set to Every Spawn the player's data will automatically load every time the player is spawned.

Save Loadout

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's current loadout is saved.

Save Resources

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's current resources are saved.

Save Gold

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's current gold is saved.

Save Checkpoint

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's checkpoint data is saved. If set to Yes, the player will respawn at the last checkpoint they activated.

Save Player Location

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's location is saved. If set to Yes, the player will respawn at the last position they saved.

Save Team

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's team number is saved. If set to Yes, the player will load with that team assigned, triggering any related Team Settings & Inventory device.

Save Class

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's class number is saved. If set to Yes, the player will load with that class assigned, triggering the related Class Designer device.

Allow Player to Clear Data

Yes, No

Determines whether players can clear their progress data from the Game menu.

All Options (Additional)

Option

Value

Description

Enabled During Phase

None, Gameplay Only

Determines whether the device is enabled during a specific phase.

Save Health / Shields

Yes, No

Determines whether the player's health and shield data is saved.

Save All Scoreboard Stats

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's current scoreboard stats data is saved.

Save Score

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's current score data is saved.

Save Round Wins

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's current round wins are saved.

Save Eliminations

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's current eliminations count is saved.

Save Assists

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's current assists count is saved.

Save Collected Items

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's collected items are saved.

Save Creature Eliminations

Yes, Only If Lower, Only If Higher, No

Determines whether the player's current creature eliminations count is saved.

Channels

When one device needs to "talk" to another device, it does so by transmitting a signal on a specific channel. The receiving device needs to be set up to receive the signal on the same channel.

A channel is identified by a number, and channel numbers are customized for a device under the option that uses the channel. Most devices will also pass the identity of the player who triggered the device with the signal.

This device has receivers that perform a variety of functions when receiving a signal over a channel, ranging from saving a player to clearing player data. Also, this device can transmit signals when certain conditions are met, like when a player reloads save data.

Receivers

Receivers listen for a channel and perform an action when they hear any device (including themselves) send a signal on that channel.

Option

Value

Description

Save Player When Receiving From

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

When the device receives a signal on the selected channel, it saves data from a distance. This does not function if the instagator is an eliminated player.

Load Player When Receiving From

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

When the device receives a signal on the selected channel, it loads the set player data.

Enable When Receiving From

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

Enables the device when the device receives a signal on the selected channel.

Disable When Receiving From

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

Disables the device when the device receives a signal on the selected channel.

Clear Data for Player When Receiving From

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

When the device receives a signal on the selected channel, it clears all saved data for a specific player.

Clear Data for All Players When Receiving From

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

When the device receives a signal on the selected channel, it clears saved data for all players in the current session.

Transmitters

Transmitters send a signal on the selected channel when triggered.

Option

Value

Description

On Activation Transmit On

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

When data is saved, the device transmits a signal on the selected channel.

On Player Loaded Transmit On

No Channel, Pick a channel or enter a channel number

When a player reloads save data, the device transmits a signal on the selected channel.