How to optimize environment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[TUTORIAL] How to optimize environment

Hey I'm currently creating a whole bunch of modular environment assets for mappers, but I'm a noob and would really appreciate if you guys could give me some tips on how I could create more optimized modular environments assets. It would be great if Low End PCs could run a map filled with my meshes at 60fps steady, but I don't know what are my constraints in terms of draw calls, triangle count, VRAM, RAM, etc. Is there a way to emulate a low end PC?
    Last edited by 3Dmatic; 01-04-2016, 05:59 PM.

There are no hard rules on minimum spec.'s for assets yet. The answer that I have received is to try and contextually keep the vertex count in mind. So perhaps that rail that you originally had 18 sides for could be done with only 10-12 sides and fewer UV islands. This is one of those things where Levels of Detail (LODs) will also be important I think. My suggestion is to turn your editor settings onto the lowest graphics settings and look at the most upscaled (vertical slice) level in its current state (I don't know which one that is right now ). That might give you a decent starting point to work from for each individual asset.

The other thing you might consider, and I would defer to YemYam and Rick's expertise -- is whether you really need a normal map on an asset or not. For example, the game Alien: Isolation relied heavily on actual geometry and less on normal maps because it ultimately reduced their memory requirements and/or draw calls (is my understanding). So that is also something to consider.

Once you make the assets available either via direct download or the marketplace, I am certain you will get some feedback on potential improvements.

Comment