First steps guide

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First steps guide

Hi, is there any good tutorial for beginners? I used to make huge amount of maps in Unreal Editor 2.0 for UT99. This new editor is very different and I just don't seem to be able to reuse any of my knowledge from past Unreal Editor so I am basically a complete newbie here.

There is some built-in tutorial which however isn't always helpful. I would like to get at least answer to following questions:

* Why are files in Editor inconsistent with game? When I play game I can't see stuff I create in editor. I even tried to change some classes and the behaviour was different in editor but in game the classes remained the same (weapon damage etc).

* How can I create water? I made a water volume thing, it behave like water, but when I jump to it, vision is same, no water effect. I put a static mesh called "plane" on top to at least emulate the surface, but I didn't figure out how to resize it. When I scale it the texture of water is also scaled, which I don't want.

* How can I create complex brushes? In old UT editor you could create some object from multiple BSP objects and then use a feature that created a brush from these, so that you could add complex semi-solid structures and decorate level with them. Elementary brushes in this UT editor seem to be very limited.

* Is there a way to see brushes changes in real time without rebuild all time? It really consumes a lot of time to rebuild everytime I move a brush

* How can I fill up LevelInfo (picture / author / music / recommended players) and publish the level into game?

* How can I create teleporters?

* How can I create movers?

* Is it possible to create a decent level with no use of external 3d programs like it was in old editor 2.0 where we could create whole level just in the editor?

* How do I properly insert textures to my level? In old UT you created a package and copied to Textures folder. Is it the same here?