Doubt on Level Packaging

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Doubt on Level Packaging

Hey all I'm new to the UT Editor and I have a question on packaging levels. Do I have to convert my BSPs to Static Meshes before packaging (for optimisation or somethin' like that) or does the packaging process take care of that? And if it does NOT do this, do the BSPs significantly affect filesize and the performance INGAME?

Thanks,
    Surya

You don't have to convert BSP to meshes and the game won't automatically convert them for you either. They'll just be BSP brushes in the map.

Unless you go really crazy with super complex BSP it'll probably perform better than it will meshed. Meshes are better for performance but they also tend to be a lot more detailed, fully meshed maps tend to have orders of magnitude more polygons and vertices than BSP maps.

And filesize, that's mostly about the materials (or more accurately the textures that make up materials). Stick to stock materials from RestrictedAssets and the file won't be very big but adding just a few custom materials (especially complex ones) can very quickly make it huge.
    Last edited by MoxNix; 10-16-2015, 06:00 PM.

Comment

Thanks a lot Mox. I was really confused regarding this issue earlier as many online resources for UE4 stressed on converting BSPs to Meshes before compilation. None of them deal with makin' a map/mod with the Editor though, all of them just targeted standalones made from the Engine itself. I was just wonderin' about this as the UT Editor felt exactly like UE4, only with UT4 Content and Assets. After all, even you've just mentioned that Meshes are 'better for performance', and the ones needed for a map blockout won't exactly be have too many polygons, right?

Comment

Originally posted by Surya Sel View Post