Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Epic Games & Mapcore's Unreal Tournament Level Design Contest

Hello everybody,

My name is Johnny van Spronsen, aka Sprony. I'm a Site Manager of Mapcore. We're currently hosting a UT Level Design contest in collaboration with Epic. I'm posting this in case you missed the announcements on social media.

Direct link to the contest can be found here. The contest forum is located here. Here's a copy of paste of what it's all about:

Epic and Mapcore are teaming up! In an effort to push the custom content scene forward, we are hosting a Level Design contest for Unreal Tournament. We challenge you to create a new level for the “Team Showdown” game mode.

Phase 1 - ­Design (1 Month)

Design a level for the new “Team Showdown” Mode in Unreal Tournament 4.
    Focus on level flow, theme, weapon and spawn placements that compliments “Team Showdown”.

Contestants need to submit their designs before the May 2nd deadline on Mapcore’s contest forum.

Phase 2 - Art and Polish (2 Months)

Use official art (Liandri, Castle, Chill and Snow Fortress assets) or your own.
    Mesh and light the level.
    Do a collision/blocking volume pass.
    The level must be functional.
    The level must run at a reasonable framerate (dm­outpost23 is a good reference).

Contestants need to submit their designs before the July 4th deadline on Mapcore’s contest forum. Download links will be sent to Epic, who will judge all entries. Epic will also host a community playtest event of the final submissions.

Rules

Small teams are allowed, for example, an artist and a designer.
    Custom art is allowed, but use of official art is completely fine.
    You can start art passing whenever you're ready. You don’t have to wait for the second phase.
    You have to be willing to have your level tested and played in Unreal Tournament.
    Must be designed for “Team Showdown” but that doesn't mean it won’t work for Deathmatch.

Disclaimer