Noob Question Can You import map from Unreal Engine into UE4 for use in UT4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob Question Can You import map from Unreal Engine into UE4 for use in UT4

Hi . sry I am a complete noob at making maps in UT4. I was constantly having crashes in UE4 while making maps as of two previous versions.. so after much frustration I moved to making a map in Unreal Engine (just assuming that I would at some time in the future be able to export it into UE4).
    After much looking on the internet and forums I can find no info on exporting to UE4 from Unreal Engine. I have put in about 4-5 hours into my map and would hope that I will not have to start from scratch in UE4 with the risk of crashing again.
    ty in advance !!

Just to clarify your question, I'm assuming you mean you're making a Project in UE4 and want to be able to move it to the UT Editor, is that correct? I assume you can, but since I'm new to the engine as well, I can't tell you how it works. Just wanted to make sure you're asking the right question. Unreal Engine and UE4 are the same thing.

Maybe backup your map files and just do a fresh install with the latest release. See if you can use the UT Editor then.

Good luck.

W.I.P.s
    DM-Containers

Comment

Yes you are correct . I would like to export from Unreal Engine into UE4. I have used the export function and saved it in many formats none of which are recognized by UE4.
      ty for your response BigAl3d. It seems strange that with all the knowledge in these forums that no one has responded with an easy YES or No. sigh

Comment

i ran into same problem, although apparently at a much later date lol. anyone know of a work around to open engine map in editor?
        There are two keys to success in life, One: don't tell everyone everything you know and Two:

Comment

1) Open map in UE4
          2) Select all
          3) Export
          4) Open UTE4
          5) Import
          6) Miller-Time