No announcement yet.

Blueprints for Gametype-Specific stuff!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[TUTORIAL] Blueprints for Gametype-Specific stuff!

Original Post:
    Is it possible to add some Blueprint code to a Weapon or Pickup so that it is removed in certain gametypes? I want to place a Keg or a Redeemer in my level and disable it on TSD to place the Overcharge pickup on that same spot. It would really suck to have to release a DM and a TSD version of the map just for that...

This looks like the kind of thing that would be super-easy to implement via Blueprint, but I'm a total noob at it and don't even know where to start. Can anyone help out with this, or point me in the right direction? I'm pretty sure that many of the people working on TSD maps for Mapcore will find it useful.

---
    Solved + Tutorial!
    Starting from the help I got in this thread, I was able to modify some pickups and meshes of my map (DM-Batrankus) by using a bunch of different methods. Since I have seen the 'gametype specific stuff' question asked in the past, I thought it may be worth sharing my final Blueprint setups in a noob-friendly tutorial... so here it is!

Detect the current Gametype:
    Pretty much the same Blueprint as the one provided by tidu in the post bellow (thanks! ). It makes the game compare the current gametype to Team Showdown (or any other gametype of your choice). We'll connect the 'True' and 'False' outputs to the next nodes explained in the tutorial, depending on the actions you want to execute if the current gametype matches your choice or not.

The Class variable at the bottom could be a bit hard to set up if you're a Blueprint newbie. Just add a new variable and give it the name you want (for example 'UTGame Mode TSD', or 'GameMode TSD'). Then click on the icon at the left of your variable's name and use the search box to look for the gametype you want. Once you've found it, hover it and select 'Class' in the submenu.

Delete Stuff: