Tutorial Map Brainstorming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tutorial Map Brainstorming

Hi guys I'm not a designer but I'm most interested in The Beginner Experience, I think it's critical for UT4 success, that's why I'd like to start a brainstorming of how the tutorial map(s) should be designed to start off players with little fps experience.

Some thoughts:

- The map should teach basic and advanced movement, weapon use and range, item use, basic strategies (e.g. *always be running*);
    - The map should be an open-space bunnytrack, so Beginners could use it for their first "official" game against human players. They'll get to try tricks they just learnt in a live game, on a map they are comfortable in;
    - The map should be designed to maximize fun: team oriented gametype, redeemer, rockets, open center, some camp and dark spots, maybe set in space so they can push each others to their death;
    - Spawnkill protection, map large enough to see opponents coming;
    - It could be set in some kind of narrative, (e.g. tournament newbie training for his first battle, stadium setting)

What do you think? More ideas?

Originally posted by wsdrdsw View Post
    Hi guys I'm not a designer but I'm most interested in The Beginner Experience, I think it's critical for UT4 success, that's why I'd like to start a brainstorming of how the tutorial map(s) should be designed to start off players with little fps experience.

Some thoughts:

- The map should teach basic and advanced movement, weapon use and range, item use, basic strategies (e.g. *always be running*);
    - The map should be an open-space bunnytrack, so Beginners could use it for their first "official" game against human players. They'll get to try tricks they just learnt in a live game, on a map they are comfortable in;