Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions about getting started with map development

Hi all,
    Short introduction - my name is Mike and I've been working on computer graphics since my Atari 800 many decades ago. Worked with Alias, wrote a map editor for Marathon (Mac) and created 30+ maps for it, and created the Lucius port for UT2K3 and UT2K4. So, I'm not a stranger to this at all.

However, I'm a little lost in how to get started with creating maps with the current tools because I've been away from this for a while. Before I drop my $20/mo. I have a few questions:

1) I'm sure I can build a map with the new UE4 editor, but how do I run it? How can I simulate running through the map? Someone in the "Work in progress" forum posted a video of a walkthrough and I don't know how it was done.

2) Do we have specs for player height yet?

3) Do we have specs for texture sizes yet? I'd like to know if there's a min/max.

4) When I get the UE4 app, will it have assets the game can use, like trees, terrain, etc., or do I have to make them all myself?

5) Can you import old UT files?

In writing this, I suppose what I'm asking is: how much of an "Unreal Editor" is the UE4 engine app? I realize that UT4 itself has to be written (and I may contribute to that as well), but I don't know what the UE4 engine app does on its own.

Thanks,
    Mike

Hi,

Originally posted by starman View Post
    1) I'm sure I can build a map with the new UE4 editor, but how do I run it? How can I simulate running through the map? Someone in the "Work in progress" forum posted a video of a walkthrough and I don't know how it was done.
    See below.

2) Do we have specs for player height yet?
    No

3) Do we have specs for texture sizes yet? I'd like to know if there's a min/max.
    No. But what UE4 supports is 1x1 to 8192x8192. Recommended sizes would be 2048x2048 and maybe 4096x4096