CTF-Nuclear Plant-v2

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[PROTOTYPE] CTF-Nuclear Plant-v2

This is my first map in Unreal Tournament and in the Unreal Engine. I chose a CTF map because this is one of the modes I like the most, simply.

I would classify this as a pre-alpha level. Apart from the obvious lack of decent art (I am a junior level designer, first and foremost!), there are surely many ways to improve the map. I would like to get some input on it. Please do not hesitate to criticize this map, I need the feedback!

*Note: this is the second version of the map, improved from the first. Again, all feedback is welcomed!

You can download the map here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1...29WY2JXWFNYUmc

The level is an abandoned nuclear plant set on an asteroid. A nuclear breakdown caused most surviving scientists to leave the place. The plant is technically working through automation but the breakdown creates radiation leaks regularly over time.

Design intentions:
    - A central landmark to always know where you are on the level
    - Two equal outposts in terms of defense (color-coded for easier identifying): two access each, fairly open (not much cover) so attackers can have a fair chance of grabbing the flag
    - A third access is opened when a particular object is shot down (container inside the plant). This also gives access to the Redeemer
    - Various possible routes for the flag carrier: central plant, tunnel, roof (after container is blown away)
    - Powerups scattered at key points: away from the bases or inside the plant, the main area for fights
    - Various scripts control: periodic nuclear damage inside the plant, force fields activation/deactivation, lift, container explosion, etc.)

Thanks everyone!

Attached Files
    Last edited by whitewarrior11; 11-28-2015, 03:33 PM.

Nice job on taking a step to learn the editor and build a map. I like the idea of a ctf map based around a nuclear power plant.