Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[PROTOTYPE] DM-MetroLevel

Hi everyone,
    Atm I'm studying digital arts and entertainment and for one of my courses I have to create a level,
    I'm not much of a gamer myself and not that familiar with unreal tournament so feedback would be very appreciated
    some of my wip so far is attached.

pak version 4.15: https://studenthowest-my.sharepoint.com/personal/marieke_van_neutigem_student_howest_be/_layouts/15/guestaccess.aspx?docid=12f948ff9bfc346798821c3b79967674f&authkey=Ac9NkeF2RmWcy8ioehTBXbM
    pak version 4.14: https://studenthowest-my.sharepoint.com/personal/marieke_van_neutigem_student_howest_be/_layouts/15/guestaccess.aspx?docid=0a109328c8f53400db5d23373ae04400d&authkey=AQN-NtHXgHBIu6A1VEd7l5g
    level video:

level gameplay:
    Attached Files
    Last edited by MNeutigem; 03-15-2017, 11:48 AM. Reason: new pak

Great work MNeutigem! I can see you are well-versed in modeling and texturing. I like the metal material you got going, especially the rust and scuffs. Overall this is a great start and I'm just going over a couple things I think can help you improve the scene. These are things that I'm still working on improving myself, and I try to always keep them in mind while building environments.

1) Shape distribution
    Here is a helpful article by Neil Blevins: http://www.neilblevins.com/cg_educat...ary_shapes.htm
    I especially love how he constructs the pipe. Taking a look at your room, there are several elements with evenly-sized secondary shapes, repetitive tertiary shapes, and no rest area. This is most noticeable on the orange pillars, ramp, door, and top-left cylinder. This also explains how some elements look better, such as the rounded thing on the bottom-left and the rectangular wall boxes that the pipes are connected to.

2) Lighting