Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Aural Clarity - not just Visual Clarity. Here are some ways to do it.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aural Clarity - not just Visual Clarity. Here are some ways to do it.

I would love to hear what you guys have to say on this subject, what tricks you know of. Especially you long time audio engineers.
    I’ve been an audio engineer for over 20 years. I have mixed, mastered, and engineered many projects. Most of which were music, but I have done some sound design including weapon sound design.
    What I hope to do here is impart some of my knowledge to you, learn new tricks and ideas, and get some of the principals in use in the game. I am sure some of you already know this stuff or just haven’t thought of how it would apply to UT. You might also note that some of this has been used in UT games of the past.

Visual clarity is something that everyone wants in this game. There should also be aural clarity. It’s not a glamorous subject but it is important whether you know it or not. This aural clarity will help players on a more subconscious level that visual clarity does as visual clarity is much easier to notice and quantify.

We have a few tools and tricks at our disposal to make the audio clear and concise. We want to be able to know exactly where our opponents are. When, where and what kind of items are nearby. We want to know if a sound is important, ambient, music, or a notification. If a sound is important, it must take precedence over an unimportant sound.

Here are some ways to achieve this clarity.
    Mastering: