Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why do dodge-ramps only seem to work 50% of the time or less?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[BUG] Why do dodge-ramps only seem to work 50% of the time or less?

I've been having this issue ever since I started playing UT4, I'm surprised I haven't seen anyone complain about it. Does it only happen to me or something?
    Anyway, it happens offline and online and it seems to happen when the player is in contact with a 90 degree wall as they slide up a slope.
    The video shows how unreliable it is to use the sloped ramp thingy. For me anyway.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZEu_YB2UAo

Oh right, I guess I showed explain what the problem is lel. While sliding upward on a ramp, your momentum has a 50% chance to dead stop, regardless of how fast you're moving.
    It's kind of annoying when a certain movement only has a chance of functioning correctly, especially in a game of which movement fluidity is one of the most important factors.
    Last edited by 83R; 06-25-2017, 12:58 AM.

It seems to me that it is critical that we must press jump before apex of ramp, (pressing and holding jump if we actually want any air like the first jump in video, but you probably know that part.) Also keeping angle to ramp seems to affect outcome (similar in effect that if you rotate your pawn too much away from parallel to a wall for a wall slide, the action breaks or does not start. Now that I think of it, you may be pressing in a forward direction along the 90° wall and your pawn is going into the wall slide move which is what is breaking the upward momentum.

Comment