X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[PROTOTYPE] Ripper

(i) Click on images to get 1080p version

Hi there !
    I've been working on a Ripper for UT4, 'cause I always loved this weapon on UT99, so why not give it a try ?
    I hope you'll give me great feedback ^^

This is actually my contribution to the "Make something go boom" challenge. I'm also a developer, and while there is only art at the moment, I'll definitely make a C++ implementation of this ripper.

__ the Idea __

I've seen many concept arts on this forum for the ripper, and some from Unreal Championship too.
    But most of them are very close to
    the "original". And to be honest, I think the ripper's shape in UT99 wasn't aggressive enough.
    I've been wandering around a way to get a more impressive mechanic, and rotating arms to place the next disk on the launch pad was definitely a great option.
    I've come to this concept :

I've made a small gif so you have an idea of the dynamism while firing.
    Arms are in alternate rotation to gain style, but I've designed (after some work, shown in next section) a cinematic model which is able to work in either standard or alternative rotation mode.

(Animation is slow so you understand what's going on, but the firing rate is driven by game design, and the animation can be played at any speed)
    PS: Oops... I haven't moved disks, but they should be at the end of those arms.

__ the Arms __

The main parts of my gun are those twin arms articulated to pick the next disk and place it on the launch pad.
    I've spent a few hours to get a working kinematic model. There is no motorization yet, but It works. (not animated yet though, but trust me this system is able to reproduce the gif above.)
    And I've only used revolute joints (3 per arm)

Also, I may put a Plexiglas gutter for the disk to slide in during the operation. I'll see if it fits once I've got all the rest done.

A closer look :

( These meshes are colored by rigid body)