Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to improve one's skills dramatically?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to improve one's skills dramatically?

Hi. I have been playing Unreal games since 1998. It's easily my favorite game series, and the one I've spent the most hours in.
    I love UT for many reasons but what I particularly find attractive about it is how much of a high-skill game it is. For me, it's really one these games that lends itself well to competitive\pro gaming.

It demands many things on your part:
    - Lightning speed reflexes
    - High precision aim
    - To able to make quick decisions
    - Being able to come up with strategies on the fly to outsmart your opponents
    - Staying aware of your environment at all time
    - Lots of focus and attention
    - etc.

I'm certainly not a bad player but I'm still a long way behind the level I would like to reach. Besides, I seem to have hit a plateau in regards to my skills and it's been that way for several years already. For instance, bots on the Inhuman setting are my limit. I have never been able to win a deathmatch against Godlike bots and that's especially true if Tamerlane, Visse or Loque are in it! Online, I have many times encountered players that are several orders of magnitude more skilled. Their abilities are overwhelming... it's almost as if they move and strafe faster the game actually allows for.

What is it that those players do to get to that point? Do they have like a routine or exercises allowing them to improve every single aspect of their play? I don't mind never being as good as they are, that's not the point here. I just wish to feel that I'm constantly improving so that I have that extra motivation to keep playing.

Thanks for your suggestions!
    Last edited by Shletten; 12-07-2015, 02:49 PM. Reason: syntax