Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modding tutorial out of date?

Hello,

I'm trying to get started with modding in Unreal Tournament 4. I found some tutorials here:

https://www.epicgames.com/unrealtournament/tutorials/

I'm just getting started so I began with the 'Learn to Modify Weapons' tutorial. The first part where you increase the rate of fire looks like it's working as intended. However moving on to the second section 'Customize Your Weapon Apperance' I think things are now out of date. It looks like the default texture of TutorialWeapon01 was no longer matching the tutorial on the website. The one in the editor is the gray checkerboard material. None of the recommended changes on the tutorial had any effect. I'm guessing this is because the base texture or parent texture is missing in M_TutorialWeapon_Base. Or maybe the newer version of Unreal uses a different method of customizing weapon appearances.

The next bit of the tutorial says:

"To use the weapon skin in a game (outside the editor), you have to package your weapon (TutorialWeapon01) for sharing."

Moving on to the Package and Share portion of the tutorial I select 'Package and Share a Weapon'.

I provide a Display name to TutorialWeapon01, FastShockRifle. Then I save, select Share a Weapon from the Share dropdown and watch the packaging output. I get the same packaged successful dialog box that the tutorial has. Then I select yes to share the asset.

Next I get to 'Play a Game with your Weapon!'. It says to play a round on your weapon select Play->Create Game.

Click image for larger version

Name:	XLuz1f5.png
Views:	2
Size:	344.2 KB
ID:	394314

However the current play screen looks like this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	eV0xO3Q.png
Views:	1
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	394315